At what age do babies recognize faces?

Studies have shown that even newborns, with their eyesight limited to about 12 inches, prefer to look at familiar faces. Months 2 to 4: Your baby will start to recognize her primary caregivers' faces, and by the 4-month mark, she'll recognize familiar faces and objects from a distance.