What does the term firm ball mean?

Firm-Ball Stage is a cooking term meaning that a sugar syrup being heated has reached 118 – 121 C (245 – 250 F.) It is a test of how hot a sugar syrup is, and of how much water is left in it. ... If the stage has been reached, the syrup will form a firm ball.