When did they start putting filters on cigarettes?

Cigarette filters were invented in 1925 by Boris Aivaz. In 1935, a British company began making cigarettes with a filter, but they were considered a specialty item until the 1950's when the link between cigarettes and lung disease prompted wider adoption. By the 1960's they were commonplace.