What is a yellow thunderstorm?

An evening thunderstorm may turn the sky slightly yellow or orange. Oftentimes, the sky will appear yellow when a thunderstorm occurs. According to the National Severe Storms Laboratory, thunderstorms most often occur in the late afternoon or early evening, when the sun is beginning to set.