How long do you boil a pound and a half lobster?

Ten Minutes. Bring water to a rolling boil over high heat. Place lobsters in the pot head first, cover tightly, return to a boil as quickly as possible and start counting the time. Steam a lobster for 7 minutes per pound, for the first pound. Add 3 minutes per pound for each additional pound.