What is the difference between a chicken and a hen?

Simply put, a hen is a mature female chicken. The term chicken applies to both male and female birds, and it applies to birds of any age. The hen is a term specifically for females that are old enough to lay eggs, or that are a year old or older.

---

The main difference between hens vs chickens is their gender. Hens are exclusively female, while chickens are either male or female.