What is four oh one k. mean?

A 401(k) plan is a tax-advantaged, defined-contribution retirement account offered by many employers to their employees. Workers can make contributions through payroll withholding, and their employers can match some or all of those contributions. Earnings are not taxed until the money is withdrawn.