What is cortisone used for?

Cortisone is a steroid, an anti-inflammatory steroid. It reduces inflammation in the body. Cortisone is used for many purposes, to treat allergic disorders, skin conditions, ulcerative colitis, arthritis, lupus, psoriasis, and breathing disorders.