What animal is pete on mickey mouse?

Pete started out as a bear, but when Mickey Mouse came along, Disney changed him into a big cat. Pete is the oldest continuing Disney character, having debuted three years before Mickey Mouse in the cartoon Alice Solves the Puzzle (1925).