Does red velvet cake have chocolate in it?

Many red velvet cake recipes call for a small amount of cocoa but that is the only chocolate flavored ingredient generally included in red velvet cake.

---

Red velvet cake contains cocoa powder. Traditionally, non-Dutched cocoa was used, and reactions in the cake ingredients revealed the famous red color in the cocoa. In modern versions, the red color usually comes from food coloring.