What's the difference between apple sauce and apple butter?

While both applesauce and apple butter are made by slow-cooking apples with water, spices, and maybe a little sugar until you have something soft and saucy, apple butter is cooked much longer so that the mix cooks down even further to become a thick, glossy, caramelized spread.