What is a p.?

The pea is most commonly the small spherical seed or the seed-pod of the pod fruit Pisum sativum. Each pod contains several peas, which can be green or yellow. Botanically, pea pods are fruit, since they contain seeds and develop from the ovary of a flower.

---

In statistics, p value is the probability of gaining results at least as extreme as the observed results of a statistical hypothesis test assuming that the null hypothesis is right. Its used as an alternative to provide the smallest level of significance at which the null hypothesis would be wrong.