What was van gogh's first painting?

Van Gogh’s first painting is The Potato Eaters of 1885.

---

There was interest from a dealer in Paris early in 1885. Theo asked Vincent if he had paintings ready to exhibit. In May, Van Gogh responded with his first major work, The Potato Eaters, and a series of "peasant character studies" which were the culmination of several years of work.