What does self-destruct mean?

Self-destruct refers to something of a secret or dangerous nature which renders itself useless to keep it from being used by an enemy. It is also a dramatic mechanism in movies used to increase tension by introducing a countdown. Sometimes it refers to people whose bad behavior hurts themselves.