What is a batch fly?

Batch sparging is a way of rinsing the grain bed with water to release all the sugars. A brewer pours “batches” of hot water into their mash tun and then drains the tun. This is a popular and easy way to sparge and a great way to get excellent efficiency without too much equipment.