What was the mark on harry potter's forehead?

The scar on Harry Potter's forehead is a result of his encounter as a baby with Voldemort. The scar is lightning bolt shaped. Some disagreement about the origin of the shape, with many people believing it to be the shape of the "Killing Curse" casting motion, others that it is just a lightning bolt.

---

It was a lightening bolt shaped scar left by Voldemort's attempt to kill Harry when Harry was a baby.