What's in a sarsaparilla drink?

Sarsaparilla was made from the Sarsaparilla vine, while Root Beer, roots of the sassafras tree. These days, recipes do not include sassafras as the plant has been found to cause serious health issues. The vine was banned for commercial food production in 1960 and artificial flavoring is used