How do you get a pet dog in minecraft?

There are no dogs in Minecraft, but you can tame a wolf for a pet. You need to feed bones to a wolf to tame it. Each bone has a 1 in 3 chance to tame the wolf, so it may take multiple attempts before it is tamed.