Is there such thing as a desert wolf?

Not specifically by that name but yes, The Arabian wolf (Canis lupus arabs) is a subspecies of the gray wolf native to the Arabian Peninsula, the Negev Desert, the Sinai Peninsula, and Jordan. It is the smallest wolf subspecies, and a desert-adapted subspecies that normally lives in small groups.