What is the difference in all purpose flour and self rising flour?

All-purpose flour contains no leavening agents, while self-rising flour does. Self-rising flour includes leavening agents, like baking powder and salt, to help baked goods rise. It also has a lower protein content than all-purpose flour, which makes it better for softer baked goods.