Can cats get chlamydia?

Feline chlamydial conjunctivitis is an infection caused by a bacterial organism called Chlamydophila felis. The most common signs of chlamydia in cats involve the eyes or the upper respiratory tract (nose or throat) and only when the infection is not treated does it spread to the lungs.