Is plastic bad for the ocean?

Plastic debris in the ocean can last from tens to hundreds of years, all the while fragmenting into smaller and smaller particles that are then ingested or inhaled by creatures that live in the oceans, which can cause those creatures to prematurely die, so yes, plastic debris is bad for the oceans.