Where was the soul stone?

Vormir...The Soul Stone was one of the six Infinity Stones, the remnant of a singularity that predated the universe, representing the element of soul. Kept on Vormir and under the protection of Red Skull since 1945, the Soul Stone was acquired by Thanos in 2018 after he sacrificed Gamora.