What is the difference between a mesa and a plateau?

Both plateaus and mesas are sudden elevations surrounded by lower plain areas. Both have flat top surfaces. But mesas are smaller than plateaus. Many mesas are formed through constant erosion of of larger plateaus by water and glaciers