Who won the scarlet letter?

The Scarlet Letter is a work of historical fiction by American author Nathaniel Hawthorne, published in 1850. Set in Puritan Massachusetts Bay Colony during the years 1642 to 1649, the novel tells the story of a man who an affair and then struggles to create a new life of repentance and dignity.