What is the multi dimensional theory?

Multidimensional anxiety theory predicts that an increase in cognitive state anxiety has a negative effect on performance. It's based on the premise that state anxiety is multidimensional, with its 2 components (cognitive and somatic anxiety) influence performance differently.