What's the difference between term life and whole life insurance?

Term life coverage is only intended to cover you for a limited number of years, while whole life provides lifelong coverage. Thus whole life premiums can cost five to 15 times more than term policies with the same death benefit, so they may not be an option for budget-conscious consumers