What is a subordinate conjunction?

A subordinate conjunction is a word or phrase that links a dependent clause to an independent clause. This conjunction indicates that a subordinate clause has value to add to the sentence's main idea. Examples of subordinate conjunctions are: after, although, as if, because, before, and since.