Why were the pyramids built?

The answer to why the pyramids were built depends on which pyramids you're thinking about. The Egyptian & Chinese pyramids are tombs. Mexican pyramids are temples.

---

Pyramids were monuments to house the tombs of the pharaohs. Ancient Egyptians believed the pharaohs were gods, and that death released their spirit on a journey to the other world. They built the pyramids to protect the pharaoh's body and possessions, and serve as a place for their spirit to dwell.