When were peanuts discovered?

Africans were the first people to introduce peanuts to North America beginning in the 1700s. Records show that it wasn't until the early 1800s that peanuts were grown as a commercial crop in the United States. They were first grown in Virginia and used mainly for oil, food and as a cocoa substitute.