What happened to columbo?

The TV detective show Columbo aired regularly from 1971 to 1978. After NBC cancelled it in 1978, Columbo was revived on ABC between 1989 and 2003 in new seasons and a few made-for-TV movie "specials". Falk eventually left the series after complaining the quality of the scripts had deteriorated.