What does it mean when a russet potato is green?

To ensure transportation from farm to market without undue damage most potatoes are picked slightly before fully ripe. The skin just under the outer skin is bright green. Peel it off. Do not eat the green skin, The potato will cook as normal but will be a bit harder.