Who turned medusa into medusa?

Legend states that Medusa was once a beautiful priestess of Athena who was cursed for breaking her vow of celibacy. When she had an affair with the sea god Poseidon, Athena punished her. She turned Medusa into a hideous hag, made her hair into writhing snakes and her skin was turned a greenish hue.