What is styrofoam?

Styrofoam is a trademarked brand of closed-cell extruded polystyrene foam, commonly called "Blue Board", manufactured as foam continuous building insulation board used in walls, roofs, and foundations as thermal insulation and water barrier. This material is owned and manufactured by DuPont.