When did retrograde start?

Retrograde refers to the brief, but regularly occurring, apparently backward movement of a planetary body in its orbit as viewed against fixed stars. It is caused by the differing orbital velocities of Earth & the body observed. In other words planets sometimes appear to move backwards in the sky.