What does six seas mean?

Six Sigma is a set of techniques and tools for process improvement. It was introduced by American engineer Bill Smith while working at Motorola in 1986. Jack Welch made it central to his business strategy at General Electric in 1995. Its steps are Control, Define, Measure, Analyze, And Improve