Why do horses overreach?

Why do horses overreach? The term is used to describe when the back hooves come in front of the front hooves and they sometimes clip the front ones. It's a term used by "farriers". To prevent an injury a horse, by "squaring" off the back toes, because they have too much engagement from behind.