Are wolves related to dogs?

Yes. Wolves, coyotes and domestic dogs are closely related species. All three can interbreed and produce viable, fertile offspring.

---

Domestic dogs and wolves are part of a large taxonomic family called Canidae, which also includes coyotes, foxes and jackals, according to the Integrated Taxonomic Information System. Members of this family are called canids.