Why are amsterdam's building so narrow?

A distinct feature of Amsterdam's houses is that they are very narrow. One of the reasons the houses are so narrow is because back in the days taxes were charged based on the size of the building's facade. So the wider facade, the more tax you pay. Despite that the houses are actually rather deep.