What causes someone to walk like a duck?

Peroneal muscle atrophy or peroneal nerve injury, as with a spinal problem (such as spinal stenosis or herniated disc), can cause this type of gait. Waddling gait. Movement of the trunk is exaggerated to produce a waddling, duck-like walk.