Is an admiral higher than a general?

The only difference is that Admiral is a rank in Navy & General is a rank in Army. Admiral is a top rank in the Navy. Admiral is a rank just above the vice admiral and below Fleet Admiral or Admiral of the Fleet.General is a rank just below Field Marshal and below Lieutenant General.