Are great danes good guard dogs?

The Great Dane breed once were hunters but are today gentle giants and affectionate to everyone and probably not suitable to be a Full time guard dog.

---

With incredible power and strength a Great Dane is more than capable of taking down any intruder at will. Certainly Great Danes can be trained as guard dogs or personal protection dogs, but by nature, they thrive and excel as watchdogs, holding calmly and silently their power and force.