How long does it take cheese to melt?

If you leave cheese out for approximately 30 minutes before melting, allowing it to reach room temperature, it will melt evenly on low in about 4-5 minutes. If melting refrigerated cheese, 7-8 minutes, but it will not melt evenly and may scorch in some places more easily.