Why do cats attack each other?

Territory: Cats are territorial animals and they will often fight to defend what they believe is their territory. ... Sometimes, they also dominate female cats. Your cat may need to act out their aggression by picking fights with their brothers and sisters or by causing a fight with a strange cat.