How do you know when tilapia is done?

When the fish reaches the proper cooking temperature (145 degrees Fahrenheit), it becomes opaque and flakes. Here's how to tell if fish is done: poke the tines of a fork into the thickest portion of the fish at a 45-degree angle. Then gently twist the fork and pull up some of the fish.