What's the purpose of love bugs?

Lovebugs' larvae feed on partially decayed vegetation in the landscape and, in this respect, are beneficial to plants and humans. Adults primarily feed on nectar from various plants, particularly sweet clover, goldenrod, and Brazilian pepper.