What do you do if you see a mountain lion?

Don't run because that will awake its hunting instincts and don't look it in the eye as that is a challenge. Make yourself as small and unthreathening as possible and slowly back away. Or make a lot of noise to chase it away. There is no guaranteed success in getting away.