What happened in nineteen eighty five?

In 1985, Marty McFly meets with his scientist friend and mentor Doc Brown when an experiment goes awry, sending Marty to the year 1955 in a modified DeLorean, where Marty encounters teenaged versions of his parents and must make sure that they fall in love or he will cease to exist.