What is the fruit called a date?

Dates are a super sweet fruit that grow on trees called date palms in a large cluster, similar to how grapes grow in bunches. If you had to compare a date to another fruit, it would essentially be comparable to a bigger, jammier, caramel-type flavored raisin.