Are snails asexual?

Most snails are hermaphrodites, meaning that they are both male and female at the same time. Some hermaphrodite snails can reproduce on their own (asexual reproduction), but others must reproduce sexually. Other snails are not hermaphrodites and must reproduce sexually.

---

Snails of different species have different anatomies, behaviors and habitats. Some snails are hermaphrodites, some reproduce sexually and some freshwater pond species reproduce asexually. A few species, including the New Zealand mud snail, can reproduce both sexually and asexually.